domingo, 16 de octubre de 2011

#change11.week 5: Managing Technology to Transform Teaching

Tony Bates: Managing Technology to Transform Teaching

This week’s topic

This week’s topic is Managing technology to transform teaching and looks at how university and college management can bring about changes to transform the institution. A key theme of the discussions will be: Can change come from within, or do we need to re-invent new forms of higher education that are de-institutionalized?

Why this topic?

New technologies will transform and are transforming post-secondary education in many different ways. Some argue that they will lead to the dismantling of universities and colleges as we know them.

However, it is my view that universities and colleges will be with us for some time into the future. There is always likely to be a need for guidance, structure and assessment of learning, and many learners will look to established institutions for such support, and for ways to validate what they have learned.

At the same time, it is also my view that universities and colleges need to change dramatically if they are to meet the future needs of learners, and in particular if they are to fully reap the benefits of technology for teaching and learning.

The structure of this week will be as follows:

1. A 60 minute webinar which lays out the main findings from the book.

When: Sunday, October 16. This webinar will be at 12.00 noon PST, 3.00 pm Eastern standard time, 8.00 pm GMT.

The webinar will be recorded for those who cannot attend on Sunday. Details will be posted on this site when the recording is available.

For more info and details go to Tony Bates site

Sorry, I couldn¨t attend the Webinar!
And technolgy continues transforming learning!

Luis R Amario

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario